replacing a USB port on the Panasonic CF-72

After successfully replacing the power jack and the power plug last week I felt confident enough to fix the last problem I have with this notebook: a broken USB port. I remember when it broke; I tripped over the printer cable having left it in following the printing of some documents. Now I am always careful to unplug the printer as soon as I am done using it. Since the computer only has two USB ports having one disabled is potentially problematic.

the new USB port next to the broken one; notice the missing contact support in the port on the left
the new USB port next to the broken one; notice the missing contact support in the port on the left

I dug out the old spare parts mainboard I have. After opening it up I found that I had to take the the metal bracket off the back edge of the mainboard in order get to the contacts. At this point I quickly and easily removed all the solder using desoldering braid. This was the first test, it went well and gave me the confidence to continue with the working computer. Removing the broken USB port did not go nearly so well. Several of the smaller pins broke off in the PCB; I managed to push them out with a sewing needle heated with the soldering iron. In the end I accidentally burned off most of one of the solder contacts. I was a little nervous about whether or not it would work when I put it back together.
all reassembled; that is the broken USB port in front
all reassembled; that is the broken USB port in front

In the end I lucked out, and it worked perfectly. This is perhaps the most delicate solder job I successfully completed.

Leave a Reply

