minor surgery on the CF-72

For the last few weeks the power socket on my CF-72 notebook has been shorting out. Not only does this allow the battery to lose its charge, but because it is a short, it gets quite warm as the connection breaks and reconnects.

Here you can see the burnt edge and the discolored top
you can see the burnt edge and the discolored top
here is the bad socket
here is the bad socket, notice the fried edge and missing center pillar

It needed to be repaired before it actually melted the power cord or started a fire, and I was about to purchase a replacement on ebay for $10 when I remembered that I had a spare CF-72 chassis with a fried mainboard. I dug it out and sure enough the power socket was in good shape. My soldering skills have never been very good, but luckily this job did not require much precision. I do not have a desoldering iron, but I was able to remove the the sockets by melting the the solder on the three tabs while simultaneously prying the socket away from the board with a tiny screw driver.

The good socket is in and the computer is all reassembled
The good socket is in and the computer is all reassembled
Here is the good socket and my supereb solder job
Here is the good socket and my superb solder job

Reattaching the good socket to the mainboard of my computer was a bit trickier. Because I was not able to remove all the solder from either the socket or the three holes that the socket tabs go through, I was forced to slowly work the tabs through the holes while melting the solder at each hole sequentially. I periodically dripped some alcohol in the socket to cool it, and after melting the solder and pushing the socket a little farther each time at each tab I was able to get it all the way down on to the board. I was concerned that I may have applied to much pressureĀ  or heated the board up to much, and was a bit nervous until I had the computer completely reassembled and powered on.

One thought on “minor surgery on the CF-72

Leave a Reply

