OS X 10.5.4 & Panasonic CF-72 – Complete

I wanted to do a more detailed write up of my experience installing OS X 10.5.4 on my Panasonic CF-72. The Notebook is a 1.8 Ghz Pentium 4 M, with 1.25 GB of pc2700 (333MHz) RAM, and 400MHz system bus. This CPU does not support SSE3 instructions, so a special kernel, with SSE3 emulation is necessary. I chose the JaS patched 10.5.4 Client/Server Installer DVD that is floating around out there. This disk appears to me (a total Mac n00b) to have a combination of different platforms on it, and the installer doesn’t protect you from mix and matching non-compatible pieces. From the installer, the server distribution is 10.5.2, and several of the packages (IO80211Family.kext for instance) are made for this and do not work with the 10.5.4 client install. It may be that this caused some of the issues that I ran into, I can’t say for sure. Here are the list of the computers detected hardware from lspci in the terminal and if they had issues;

Install issues

System Device

none

Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82845 845 [Brookdale] Chipset Host Bridge (rev 04)

none

bridge: Intel Corporation 82845 845 [Brookdale] Chipset AGP Bridge (rev 04)

none

Controller: Intel Corporation 82801CA/CAM USB Controller 1 (rev 02)

none

PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev 42)

none

ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801CAM ISA Bridge (LPC) (rev 02)

none

IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801CAM IDE U100 Controller (rev 02)

none

SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801CA/CAM SMBus Controller (rev 02)

none

Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801CA/CAM AC’97 Audio Controller (rev 02)

No driver. Use standard vesa, no acceleration

compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon Mobility M7 LW [Radeon Mobility 7500]

Yes, see below

CardBus bridge: Ricoh Co Ltd RL5c476 II (rev 80)

Yes, see below

Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)

Yes, see below

Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4318 [AirForce One 54g] 802.11g Wireless LAN Controller (rev 02)

The first thing I noticed is that the installer takes a really long time probing the hardware, no doubt this is because it just never finds drivers for some of the devices. At first I just thought that it had locked up and consequently I gave up the first several times I ran it, trying different combination’s of boot flags in darwin (it turns out none were necessary). The troublesome devices are the PCCardbus (PCMCIA), and the network cards. Additionally, every time I installed it the computer came up without PS2 support and consequently no touchpad or keyboard was detected. This may have been my doing, they worked in the installer so I know that the support was there.

With no mouse and no keyboard I had to use a usb mouse/keyboard set until I reinstalled the ApplePS2Controller.kext. This works immediately with no reboot necessary (sudo kextload /path/to/kext at the terminal). I may have caused this issue by unnecessarily selecting the “Generic PS2 fix’ from the installer. Even with the usb mouse/keyboard detected I found myself in the notorious ‘Profile Setup Infinite Loop’ that continuously complains of not detecting a mouse or keyboard and then detects it and then . . .

I got around this by booting into single user mode with the -s switch at darwin and then issuing the following commands;

passwd root

su –

touch /var/db/.AppleSetupDone

This sets the root password, and makes it skip profile setup on the next boot up. Then you log in as root and set up a user profile from there and then log out and back in again with your user profile. Do not use the root profile for anything else.

The long boot times were caused by a couple of things, first the probing of the PCCardbus, I fixed this by renaming the ‘IOPCCardFamily.kext’, to ‘IOPCCardFamily.back’ on the command line at that first boot into single user mode. The next issue is the network card trying to find a network. I fixed this by going into the bios and disabling the the network card until I could install the proper (functioning) driver for the card. The Broadcom 4318 card was not detected at all because the driver package included on the disk is for the 10.5.2 distribution.  A bit of searching turned up this site with drivers for the PCCardbus, the Broadcom card and more.

The most useful tool that I found for setting up a hackbook (that’s what they call’em) is OSx86Tools. This program can automatically detect uninstalled devices, download and install the drivers, provided that you figure out how to run the program as root (seems to be a bug). You can also choose to simply download the drivers and then individually install them as a user with administrative privileges. What I did was find the executable inside the OSx86Tools package and executed it in a terminal window with sudo. OSx86Tools provides a lot of other system backup and tweaking options that I have yet to try.

The last issue that I ran into was with the X11 package. X11 did not work out of the box, I tried a number of thing before finding the fix. It was surprisingly simple, from a terminal issue this;

defaults write org.x.X11 depth 24

This will set the color depth in X to 24 bits.

I never did get the touch screen to work. It took a special driver, and the correct settings in xorg.conf in linux, and I have no idea where in OS X I would find the similar counterparts. Since no Mac has ever had a touch screen I am pretty sure that the driver would have to be written from scratch. There are drivers for Wacom tablets but they are completely different, a separate device. The CF-72’s PS2 controller takes input from both the touchscreen and the touchpad simultaneously, and the driver sorts out the two input  streams. It may be possible to adapt the Linux driver and compile it for OS X, but I have yet to figure out how the inputs would be handled by the OS.

I am still getting used to OS X, the interface is arranged diferently then what I am used to. Coming from Linux, I find the BSD substructure comforting, many of the command line programs that I am used to are still there, and the file structure is similar in many respects. There has obviously been a lot of work put into the OS to make it a smooth experience for the user. I definately like it more then Windows, but given the choice I still prefer Linux.

** Update** It looks like someone beat me to the touchscreen OS X thing. From the article, the Gigabyte M912x netbook touch screen uses a usb interface with a home made driver.

Leave a Reply

