Quad-Booting Ubuntu-9.04/WinXP/Win7/OSX

After several days of senselessly trying to install OSX on my non-Apple notebook, I finally succeeded. The first issue was apparently that I was attempting the install on an extended partition. Darwin didn’t like this. I first tried the iDeneb distro, but it wouldn’t load the installer. I also tried a JAS patched client/server Leopard distro with the same result. The successful attempt used the deadmoo flat disk image that is floating around the intertubes. This is a VMware disk image of tiger 10.4.1 that can be directly copied to an empty partition of the same size. I spent far too long trying to get this one to boot off of the extended partition. I was able to boot off of the install disks into single user mode and then mount the deadmoo image, but because they have different kernels, I was not able to chroot in to it.

Eventually I ended up changing my hard drive all around, deleting the windows7 beta logical partition on the extended partition, and installing Ubuntu 9.04 there. When I had it all setup, touchscreen working and all my data moved, I deleted my old 8.10 install on a primary partition. During the switch I also moved my swap partition from a primary partition to a logical one as well. This opened up two primary partitions, I left windowsXP on the first primary partion, one for the Windows7 RC, and one for OSX. Having had no luck with the iDeneb install or the deadmoo flat image, I installed Seven while downloading a supposedly run-on-anything JAS patched Leopard 10.5.4 distro.

Windows7 RC went fine, I already knew what I would have to do to get it running. I downloaded the Dell M9 Radeon driver from cnet, which works well for my non-dell Panasonic CF-72’s M7 Radeon graphics card. Then I went to the Panasonic Canada website (the best) and downloaded the touch screen driver; the Windows XP one for the CF-72, and the Vista one for the CF-30. Panasonic doesn’t supply a Vista/7 driver for the CF-72, but it is the same hardware as the CF-30, however the CF-30 driver won’t install at the dmi check. The solution is to install the XP driver, which is very unstable and the immediately update the driver manually to the driver extracted from the CF-30 installer. I accidentally downloaded the wrong driver, the ‘tscreen’ driver is for a usb digitizer not the touchscreen, the correct driver is the ‘mouse’ driver which is for the fujitsu ps2 touchpad/touchscreen, so it ended up crashing once before I got it sorted out.

By this time I had the JAS patched Client Server OSX distro downloaded. Like iDeneb, it refused to boot. I wasted some time trying to manually copy all the files over to the hard drive before finally giving up on it. Then I tried the deadmoo image again, and came close, but Darwin complained of a HFS+ error. I booted into Ubuntu and scanned the drive with fsck, it showed no problems. So then I booted off of iDeneb into single user mode, and scanned it with fsck_hfs and it also showed no errors. I figured that it had to do with the size mismatch between the partition I had created and the deadmoo image, so I deleted the partition and made a new one that was closer in size to the image and it worked! I was quite surprised when it booted up to the OSX desktop. However, the deadmoo image does not have support for the Broadcom 4318 wireless card in my notebook, or sse3 emulation. Both of these are important, I need my wireless! and sse3 emulation makes it so that stuff that uses Rosetta (itunes, Safari. etc) will function.

I am now downloading yet another distro that will hopefully install and support my wireless card and Rosetta applications.

Leave a Reply

